ESB Networks DAC Board

ESB Networks DAC was incorporated on 8th December 2008 as a wholly owned subsidiary company of ESB. ESB Networks DAC was vested as Distribution System Operator on 1st  January 2009 in accordance with the European Communities Regulations 2008 (S.I. 280 of 2008). It is responsible for the operation, maintenance, and development of the electricity distribution system in the State.

ESB Networks DAC has its own board which currently consists of 5 members. The Articles of Association of ESB Networks DAC specify that at least two of the directors shall not be employees, contractors or consultants of ESB or its subsidiary companies and shall be independent of the interests of ESB. Ms Caroline Spillane, Mr Ian Talbot and Mr Michael Nolan were appointed as independent directors pursuant to this requirement

Marguerite Sayers, Chairperson

Marguerite Sayers was appointed to the ESB Networks DAC Board as a director and Chairperson in July 2022. She is also the ESB Deputy Chief Executive, and has previously held the roles of Executive Director of ESB Customer Solutions, and Managing Director of ESB Networks DAC.  She has worked in various technical and managerial positions in ESB for over 30 years, including Generation Manager, and Head of Asset Management for ESB Networks. She has a degree in Electrical Engineering from University College Cork (UCC). She is a Chartered Engineer, a Fellow and Past President of Engineers Ireland, a Fellow of the Academy of Engineers, a member of the Board of Energy UK and a Governor of the Irish Times Trust.

Nicholas Tarrant, Director

Nicholas Tarrant was appointed Managing Director of ESB Networks, and as a Director of ESB Networks DAC in September 2021.  Prior to this he held the positions of Executive Director of Engineering and Major Projects ESB and Managing Director of Northern Ireland Electricity Networks. He has held a number of senior management positions including Generation Manager with responsibility for ESB’s generation portfolio. He is a chartered engineer at the Institute of Engineers of Ireland, a Chartered Director and holds an MSc in Management from Trinity College Dublin.

Michael Nolan, Director

Michael Nolan was appointed to the ESB Networks DAC Board as an independent director in May 2022. Michael is a graduate of the University of Galway, Trinity College, and Oxford University, Michael’s background is in transport infrastructure and operations. He was Chief Executive and Board Member of Transport Infrastructure Ireland (2015-2020), and the Head of Major Projects and Capital Programmes at the NRA (2007-2015). Michael held Local Authority roles, primarily leading on various interurban motorway projects. He has also chaired the Western Development Commission’s Working Group developing a Sustainable Mobility Index. Michael is also a member of the BusConnects Programme Board. In 2021, the Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform appointed Michael as Chair of the Major Projects Advisory Group. Michael is a Chartered Engineer and is also a Fellow of Engineers Ireland. 


Caroline Spillane, Director

Caroline Spillane was appointed to the ESB Networks DAC Board as an independent director in May 2019.  Caroline is CEO of the Institute of Directors Ireland. She commenced the role in July 2022. Caroline has held several senior leadership roles including most recently as Director General of Engineers Ireland, the all-Ireland professional body for engineers, CEO of the Medical Council of Ireland, the independent statutory regulator of over 25,000 medical practitioners and Assistant National Director of the Health Services Executive.

Caroline is an experienced Non-Executive Director serving as a board member of the Health Information and Quality Authority (HIQA), and Irish Manufacturing Research. She is also a member of the Advisory Group to Balance for Better Business, an independent business-led Review Group established by the government to improve gender balance in senior leadership in Ireland.

Caroline's qualifications include a BA from UCC and an MA from TUD. She is currently undertaking a Doctoral programme with SETU. 

Ian Talbot, Director

Ian Talbot was appointed to the ESB Networks DAC Board as an independent director in May 2019.  Ian is Chief Executive of Chambers Ireland and Secretary General of the International Chamber of Commerce (ICC) Ireland. Prior to those appointments Ian held positions as a Director of Citigroup and JP Morgan Chase in Ireland for 18 years. He qualified as a Chartered Accountant with Price Waterhouse, working in their Dublin and Luxembourg offices, and holds MA and BBS degrees from Trinity College, Dublin. He is Deputy President of Eurochambres, a member of the National Economic and Social Council, and a Director of Skillnet Ireland.

Marie Sinnott, Company Secretary

Marie Sinnott is Company Secretary of ESB Networks DAC, and Group Company Secretary of ESB. Prior to her appointment in 2019, Marie was ESB’s Group Head of Compliance and Enterprise Risk Management and previously held a number of senior management roles across the organisation. A UCD commerce graduate, she holds an MSc in Economic Policy Studies from TCD and a Postgraduate Diploma in Corporate Governance from UCD Michael Smurfit Graduate Business School. Marie is a member of the DCU Governing Authority, and a Director and Company Secretary of the Board of the Institute of International and European Affairs.

Get in Touch
1800 372 757
Contact Us